The AAPPS Council Delegation Visited CSRC
2016-02-01 11:30     

The Delegation of Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) visited Beijing Computational Science Research Center (CSRC) on January 23, 2016.

The delegation included AAPPS President Seunghwan Kim (Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics, Korea), Treasurer Hyoung-Joon Choi (Yonsei University, Korea), AAPPS council members Ching-Ray Chang (Vice president, National Taiwan University), Sow Chorng Haur (Chairman, Physics Department, Singapore National University), Fu-Jen Kao (President, Physical Society located in Taipei), Nguyen Quang Liem (Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology, Vietnam), Monika Raharti (Surya University, Indonesia), as well as Mitsuru Kikuchi (Chair of the Plasma Division, AAPPS), Bum-Hoon Lee (Director, Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics) and Yuan-Ron Ma (Chair, Physics Department, National Dong Hwa University). Also present were Mingfang Lu (Editor-in-Chief, China Office) and Jane Roscoe (Head of Partner Development) from the IOP Publishing.

Prof. Hai-Qing Lin, the Director of CSRC, along with Professors Jian-Qiang You and Lei-Han Tang (AAPPS Council Member) warmly welcomed the visiting guests and showed them around the CSRC home-building, especially the supercomputer Tianhe-II-JK room and offices.

During the visit, Prof. Lin gave an introduction of the CSRC, and expressed the desire to develop close research collaborations with scientists in the Asia-Pacific countries. The AAPPS guests showed great interest in organizing future visits to CSRC to explore such opportunities, especially in formulating projects that involve both computational and experimental components. President Kim also gave a brief introduction of the AAPPS activities, particularly on the formation of topical divisions. Council members invited CSRC to contribute a report on its research activities in a forthcoming issue of the AAPPS Bulletin.





CSRC 新闻 CSRC News CSRC Events CSRC Seminars CSRC Divisions